MINUTES

of the

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

of the

KENTUCKY RIVER AREA DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT

Meeting Conducted by Hybrid May 25, 2022 12:00pm

<u>CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME</u>

Mayor Laura Thomas, Chairman, called the meeting to order.

INVOCATION

Mr. Larry Parke gave the invocation.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Laura Thomas, Chairman, led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

CALL OF ROLL

Mr. Fred Hall, Secretary, called the roll with the following members present:

BREATHITT - Mayor Laura Thomas

Mr. Gary Campbell

KNOTT - Mayor Scott Cornett

Mr. Larry Parke

LEE - Judge Chuck Caudill, Jr.

LESLIE - Hiram Cornett

LETCHER - Mayor Todd DePriest

Mr. Fred Hall

OWSLEY - Judge Cale Turner

Mr. Dale Bishop

PERRY - Judge Scott Alexander

Mayor Tom Burns

*Mr. Carlos Campbell, DR for Mayor Donald "Happy" Mobelini

Mr. Lonnie Brewer

Ms. Meriwether Wash-Hall

Mr. Derrick Bowling

WOLFE - Ms. Pam Pilgrim

- Mr. Craig Lindon

- *Mr. Wade Gibbs, DR for Judge Raymond Banks

Quorum verified by Mr. Fred Hall, Secretary: Nineteen (19) members present with eight (8) counties represented, therefore, meeting commenced. (*Denotes Designated Representative/Proxy.)

KRADD Staff - Ms. Michelle Allen, Executive Director

Ms. Kimberly Coomer, Associate Director of Finance

Ms. Stacie Noble, Associate Director of Human Services

Ms. Jennifer McIntosh, Assoc. Dir. of Com. & Ec. Dev./Water & Wastewater Plnr.

Ms. Eunice Holland, Assoc. Dir. of Com. & Ec. Dev./Transportation Plnr.

Ms. Karlena Campbell, HR Coordinator/Staff Accountant

Ms. Kimberly Sapp-Allen, Office Manager

Mr. Dallas Arnett, Custodian/Maintenance

Ms. Lisa Napier, Infrastructure Coordinator

Mr. David Baker, Public Administration Specialist

Ms. Melissa Brewer, Community and Economic Development Specialist

Ms. Megan Stepp, IT/GIS Specialist

Ms. Leah Fugate, Community and Economic Development Specialist

Mr. Jesse Riley, Economic Development Coordinator

Ms. Tabitha Haddix, Economic Development Coordinator

Mr. Trevor Pollard, Community and Economic Development Planner

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Mr. Craig Lindon to approve the April 27, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes as presented; the motion was seconded by Mr. Derrick Bowling; all in favor with none opposed, motion carried.

APPROVAL OF TREASURER'S REPORT

A motion was made by Mr. Gary Campbell to approve the April 2022 Treasurer's Report as presented; the motion was seconded by Mr. Larry Parke; all in favor with none opposed, motion carried.

<u>INTRODUCTION OF GUEST SPEAKER</u>

Ms. Michelle Allen, Executive Director, introduced Dr. Matt Crawford, Geologist, Kentucky Geological Survey, Adjunct Faculty, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, who presented information regarding the Landslide Susceptibility and Risk in the KRADD; a copy of which is included in the official record.

BUSINESS

- (1) <u>Program Updates:</u>
 - (A) Ms. Stacie Noble, Associate Director of Human Services, presented an update of

- programs under her leadership to the Board. A copy of which is included in the official record.
- (B) Ms. Jennifer McIntosh, Associate Director of Community and Economic Development/ Water & Wastewater Planner, presented an update of programs under her leadership to the Board. A copy of which is included in the official record.
- (C) Ms. Eunice Fitzpatrick-Holland, Associate Director of Community and Economic Development/Transportation Planner, presented an update of programs under her leadership to the Board. A copy of which is included in the official record.
- (2) <u>Mayor Charles Long Scholarship Award:</u> Ms. Michelle Allen, Executive Director, introduced Ms. Sarah Jo Campbell, recipient of the Mayor Charles Long Scholarship Award, and presented her a certificate. Ms. Campbell is a 2022 graduate of Hazard High School and plans to attend Transylvania University, Lexington, Kentucky, in the fall.
 - <u>Jack M. Burkich Technical School Scholarship Award:</u> Ms. Michelle Allen, Executive Director, introduced Mr. Maddox Adams, recipient of the Jack M. Burkich Technical School Scholarship Award, and presented him a certificate. Mr. Adams is a 2022 graduate of Letcher County Central High School and plans to attend Kentucky Welding Institute, Flemingsburg, Kentucky, in the fall.
- (3) 2023 Budget: Ms. Michelle Allen, Executive Director, highlighted a few points for this coming budget, such as an additional \$22,000.00 in federal ARC funds, an additional \$38,975.07 in state ARC funds, and an additional \$68,981.88 JFA funds, which fund our CEDS Department. A recommendation of a 3.5% base to 4.5% maximum raise for staff, with the average raise being 4%, was made by the Personnel Committee; along with a base scale raise to \$32,000.00 from \$30,000.00 for the case managers, ombudsman, and professional Aging staff; which is included in this budget. Also included in the budget in the expenditures section is the purchase of a new staff car, \$27,000.00 and \$25,000.00 for the first phase of the remodel of the Chappell Dairy Building, electrical and HVAC. That building will be used for KRADD storage and will assist in the elimination current off-site storage. This budget has a fund balance unreserved of \$67,017.00. A copy of the 2023 Budget is included in the official record. A recommendation by the Audit Committee is to respectfully request the Board approve this 2023 Budget as presented. Chairman Laura Thomas asked for a motion to approve the 2023 Budget as presented, Mr. Craig Lindon made the motion to approve; Mr. Gary Campbell seconded the motion; all in favor with none opposed, motion carried.

OTHER BUSINESS

Ms. Regena Triplett-Jones, Field Representative, Senator Rand Paul, was in attendance and expressed that she was always available for letters of support for their projects.

Ms. Andrea Begley, Field Representative, Congressman Hal Rogers, was in attendance and offered her assistance and letters of support for their projects. Ms. Begley also reminded everyone

about the upcoming Focus SOAR Summit on entrepreneurship and innovation June 23rd and 24th in Hazard and urged all that were interested to attend.

ADJOURNMENT

With no other business to discuss, Mayor Laura Thomas, Chairman, asked for a motion to adjourn.
Mr. Dale Bishop made the motion to adjourn the meeting; Mr. Craig Lindon seconded the motion; all
in favor with none opposed, motion carried, meeting was adjourned.

Mayor Laura Thomas, Chairman
Mr. Fred Hall, Secretary

ksa