KENTUCKY RIVER AREA DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT



REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING COMMITTEE MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, February 8, 2023 11:30 AM Via Video Conference & at KRADD Conference Center

941 N. Main St., Hazard, KY 41701

TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Mayor Todd DePriest, Chairman -City of Jenkins

Mayor Laura Thomas – City of Jackson

Mayor Trish Hall – City of Hindman

Mayor Tiffany Craft – City of Whitesburg

Judge Raymond Banks – Wolfe County Fiscal Court

Mayor Scott Jackson – City of Beattyville

Mayor Tom Burns – City of Buckhorn

Bill McIntosh – Perry County Fiscal Court

Craig Lindon – Wolfe County Citizen

KYTC Highway District Staff – Technical Advisors Present

Darren Back – KYTC/HDO 10

Charlie Dale – KYTC/HDO 12

Samuel Hale – KYTC/HDO 12

KRADD Staff Present

Jennifer McIntosh – Associate Director of Community & Economic Development

Lisa Napier – Infrastructure Coordinator

Scott Melton – Transportation Planner

Michelle Allen - Director of KRADD

Other Attendees

Barry Davis – Office of Rural & Secondary Roads

Troy Hearn - KHFS/ Ky HD

Quentin Smith - DLZ

Justin Harrod - KYTC

Clint Goodin - Stantec

Paul Nesbitt – Nesbitt Engineering

Sandy Dunahoo – Nesbitt Engineering

Katie Kelley – Hazard Herald

Dena Rice – City of Campton

Julie Bickers - KIA

Jacob Huber – KYTC Aaron Rose – CVADD

CALL TO ORDER

The KRADD Regional Transportation Planning Committee meeting was called to order at by Chairman Mayor Todd DePriest and he welcomed those in attendance in person and virtually.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Craig Lindon made the motion to approve the Minutes from the October 12, 2022 meeting. The motion was seconded by Bill McIntosh. Motion carried. The Minutes are on file in the KRADD office.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

Next Steps for Community Walk Bike Planning and Construction 2.0, Troy Hearn, KHFS The presentation consisted of:

- The mission and vision of the Kentucky Department for Public Health.
- How to implement your bike/ped master plan.
- What your community goals should be and how to achieve them.
- Whom to contact when starting your planning process.
- It identified funding for projects.

BUSINESS

- ❖ The work that staff has been involved in was discussed.
- ❖ Membership of the Regional Transportation Committee was discussed to mention the new members.
- ❖ The Bicycle/Pedestrian Master Plan for the cities of Campton and Beattyville were updated.
- ❖ Information on the open Transportation Grants was mentioned for those entities that were interested in applying.
- ❖ The secretary vacancy was filled by Bill McIntosh who volunteered to fill until the end of the term.

HIGHWAY DISTRICT OFFICE UPDATE

- ❖ District 10 Darren Back provided updates for projects in Breathitt, Lee, Owsley, Perry, and Wolfe Counties.
- ❖ District 11 Keenan Jones was unable to attend but sent word that there were no updates from the district.
- ❖ District 12 Charlie Dale provided updates for projects in Knott and Letcher Counties.

RURAL & MUNICIPAL ROAD AID UPDATE

❖ Barry Davis (D10 & D12) gave an update on the rural and municipal road aid.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, Craig Lindon made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Bill McIntosh seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned. The next meeting will be Wednesday, May 10, 2023. The meeting will be held in person at the KRADD Conference Room. There will be a virtual option.